Books

Henriette Dedichen, founder and owner of D APT Art Space, is the editor of two books on the life and work of Andy Warhol, and is the author of several texts on Andy Warhol and Edvard Munch.

Warhol Munch

Warhol Munch

Edited by: Henriette Dedichen and Michael Holm Juul.
Texts by: Siegfried Gohr, Gunnar Danbolt, Henriette Dedichen, Poul Erik Tøjner.
Henriette Dedichen's texts: “Warhol distinctly after Munch”. “On distinctiveness in Andy Warhol's “after Munch” series” - interview with Tim Hunt at the Andy Warhol Foundation. “On the making of Andy Warhol's “after Munch” series” - interview with Donald Sheridan, former assistant to Rupert Jason Smith, master printer to Andy Warhol. “Andy Warhol's Munch source materials” - dialogue with Matt Wrbican, archivist at the Andy Warhol Museum, Pittsburgh.
Language(s): English.
Published by: Louisiana Museum of Modern Art Publications, 2010.
Exhibition: WARHOL AFTER MUNCH exhibition at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, 4.6.2010 - 12.9.2010
Link to exhibition: https://www.louisiana.dk/udstilling/warhol-after-munch

Why read this book?
Andy Warhol (1928–1987) famously once declared: “If you want to know all about Andy Warhol, just look at the surface of my paintings and films and me, and there I am. There's nothing behind it.” In 1984, the avatar of superficiality took on a potentially surprising new subject: the work of Norwegian Symbolist Edvard Munch (1863–1944). Warhol made an extensive series of prints based on four of Munch’s major subjects--the iconic “The Scream,” “Madonna,” “Self-Portrait” and “The Brooch”--working with dazzling new color tones including silver and gold. Published on the occasion of an exhibition at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, and featuring a beautiful silkscreened cover, Warhol after Munch unites Warhol’s unusual series with its source material. With some never-before-reproduced works, along with in-depth scholarly essays, this book is a must for fans of Munch and Warhol alike, and anyone interested in the cross-germination of visual ideas.

Landscape and Room - A selection from H.M.Queen Sonja's Art Collection

Landscape and Room - A selection from H.M.Queen Sonja's Art Collection

Edited by: Karin Hellandsjø.
Texts by: Karin Hellandsjø and Henriette Dedichen.
Henriette Dedichen's text: "Warhol's Polaroids of H.M.Queen Sonja - Impulse and Intensity".
Language(s): English, Norwegian.
Published by: Henie Onstad Art Center, 2012.
Exhibition: Henie Onstad,15.06 - 7.09 2012.

Why read this book?
In 1982 H.M.Queen Sonja of Norway visited Andy Warhol´s renowned studio The Factory in New York. The result of this visit was a series of 6 silkscreens of Crown Princess Sonja which formed part of Warhol´s famous series Celebrities. After a make-up session with Warhol´s creative team, a series of 29 polaroid shots were taken which served as the basis for his silkscreen prints. Dedichen´s text, "Warhol´s Polaroids of H.M.Queen Sonja - Impulse and Intensity", gives an in-depth description of the photo-session at the Factory, Warhol´s use of his Big Shot camera, the atmosphere between Warhol and his model during the photo session, the lightning in the studio and finally Warhol´s selection of the one polaroid to be used for the silkscreens.

Warhol’s Queens

Warhol’s Queens

Edited by: Henriette Dedichen.
Texts by: Hubertus Butin, Clément Chéroux, Henriette Dedichen, Dietmar Elger, Matt Wrbican.
Henriette Dedichen's text: “Andy Warhol's royal polaroids.”
Language(s): English.
Published by: Hatje Cantz, 2013. https://www.hatjecantz.de/warhols-queens-5435-1.html

Why read this book?
Warhol’s Queens offers a surprising mosaic consisting of Andy Warhol’s portraits of royal queens and images of drag queens. For Warhol, both genuine as well as fake queens slipped into the role of idealized movie-star femininity, devoting their lives to handing down a glittering and sparkling way of life and presenting it to the public for (not overly close) inspection. This volume juxtaposes Warhol’s Polaroids of Princess Caroline of Monaco, now H. R. H. Princess Caroline of Hanover, Empress Farah Pahlavi of Iran, and Crown Princess Sonja, now H. M. Queen Sonja of Norway, with drag queens, all of whom Warhol characterized as “living testimony to the way women used to want to be, the way some people still want them to be, and the way some women still actually want to be.” Warhol’s Queens presents intense faces with exceptionally colored lips, eyes, and hair that serve as sexual fetishes and are too tempting to resist. With essays by Hubertus Butin, Clément Chéroux, Henriette Dedichen, Dietmar Elger, and Matt Wrbican, this book is a must both for Warhol fans as well as for anyone interested in photography and portraiture.

Die drei Expressionisten. Munch. Nolde. Kirchner.

Die drei Expressionisten. Munch. Nolde. Kirchner.

Texts by: Andrea Knop and Henriette Dedichen.
Henriette Dedichen's text: “Male dein Leben!/Paint your own life!”
Language(s): English, German.
Exhibition: MUNCH. NOLDE. KIRCHNER. 9. Oktober 2019 – 25. Februar 2020 at Beck & Eggeling, Düsseldorf.
Published by: Beck & Eggeling Kunstverlag.

Why read this book?
The avant-garde artist Munch’s first exhibited painting is of the head and bust of a red-haired young woman named Jenny Dedichen from the year 1883. Her informal hairstyle and her deep v-shaped neckline indicate the influence of the uninhibited bohemian behaviour of the avant-garde Kristiania Bohème group. The press described the painting as a result of “Ultra Radicalism”. Hans Jæger, the leader of the Kristiania Bohème group, postulated that “you should write your own life”. For the young Munch, Jæger’s idea meant “you should paint your own life”. In 1892 Munch was invited to realise a solo exhibition by the Verein Berliner Künstler in Berlin. The exhibition opened on 5 November with 55 paintings, and on 12 November, the exhibition was shut down. Visitors to the exhibition were shocked and offended by Munch’s paintings, and the older and more established painters took Munch’s paintings as an anarchistic provocation. The scandal was huge, but Munch became a star, especially among the younger artists.